From Home

20/Jan/2012

Ok, I wanna say something and hopefully not have you judge me. I promise it gets better!

Sometime in November, I had friends and family tell me they were sending care packages to me from America. Great! They didn’t come and didn’t come. And quite honestly, I didn’t really care, too much. (that’s the cringe inducing “please don’t judge me” statement of the warning) I just didn’t. I didn’t really NEED anything and so thought it really wasn’t a big deal. I mean, I was upset that people I cared about had spent money and it was seemingly wasted. But I was more upset about the fact that I had to have that conversation with my family every time we talked than I was that I didn’t have this stuff. “No they aren’t here, yet. No, I don’t know why. It’s probably because of Christmas and a lot more stuff in a sub-par postal system.” (we say a lot about our postal system in America but believe me, I will be HAPPY to have it back!) Anyway, I was getting to the point that I was dreading that part of our conversations every time. Just waiting until I had to say those words.

But then, it happened. An MLK miracle! (it’s the closest holiday) Yesterday, Kaya came back from Moyo bearing two large boxes with my name on them. YAY! My family will be elated! I opened them and kinda glanced through but didn’t want to unpack them as we were still at the seminary and I’d have to pack it back up to go home. We didn’t leave for home until 8:00 pm and it was Dan’s last night in KK. So, I really didn’t properly open them until this morning.

Let me just say, I’m glad I walked to the office today so I had some time to pull myself together, thank God and quite honestly confess a bit. For those of you who took part even in some small way in these care packages, I would like to give you a very heartfelt THANK YOU! I really cannot tell you how much they meant to me. As I sat there this morning pulling out yarn, coffee, gum, girly things like smelly lotion and lip gloss, toiletries and a wide variety of well thought out treats of every kind (including a lovely tin of homemade peanut brittle from Jean Mathias – THANK YOU!!!!!), I realized just how much these kinds of packages mean to me. I honestly had it in my head that it wasn’t that big a deal but boy was I wrong!

I was totally planning on only opening one package and saving the other so I had something to look forward to later. Um, that didn’t happen. I did, however, refrain from eating everything at once. I even refrained from opening everything and eating just a little bit of each. Here, once something is open, it’s gone. I know that’s a problem in America, too. But I mean that once it’s open, you either eat it within a couple days or get used to eating stale, mushy, or possibly bug infested food. (believe me, I’m not above that but still, I have SOME discipline….)

The comfort of having things from home is very small compared to the feeling that people have been thinking about you, care enough to choose things they know you’d like and took the time to put it in the mail to you. It’s a humbling feeling.

So over my cup of Pecan turtle coffee this morning, I thanked God for all the loving people in my life. I truly don’t deserve y’all! But I am SO grateful. There aren’t really words to express that. I’ve already used 546 words and still don’t feel like I’ve scratched the surface of telling you how grateful I am!

Thank you, thank you, THANK YOU!

One Response to “From Home”

  1. Allison said

    Yaaaaaay! I’m glad you received your package! I was worried it had been lost, but Jeanne assured me that Kim waited over two months many times for her packages. So, you’d better tell me now if there’s anything you need before you come home in June!

Leave a Reply

