Do They Know it’s Christmastime at all?

26/Dec/2011

I can tell you with all certainty, they do! It was a wonderful experience to worship with friends and (Sudanese) family on Christmas. Everyone was decked out in their new Christmas cloth (most people got one gift for Christmas, a new outfit), and we worshipped the God who loved us so much He sent His son to this earth to be born in a place for animals so He could die on the cross to save us from our sins. This is what I discussed with the kids. I made sure they knew the whole story of Christ’s birth then we talked about the reason He came to the earth. We give gifts because we like to remember that God have us the biggest gift of all on Christmas.

Then, we came home from church and had meat and soda and just relaxed in the knowledge that God’s love is huge. I gave everyone the gifts I made for them. The girls all got two washcloths, the ladies got shawls, Kaya got bookmarks. The boys got gum because, well, what boy wants a knitted gift?! It was so much fun to be able to give something back to this family that has taken me in as one of their own.

I hope all of you had a Merry Christmas and I wish you a Happy New Year! I will “celebrating” the New Year in Nimule. I’m headed there with Kaya, Steve Grote and Dan Kim on the 28th and return to Kajo Keji on January 5th. So if you don’t hear from me until then, HAPPY NEW YEAR! I pray it lives up to its promise and potential. May God richly bless you and show you great and mighty things this New Year!

Leave a Reply

