With Hope

04/Nov/2011

Today is a sad day in my family. We have lost one of our own. My Aunt Lavonne has died. I know that we do not grieve as those who have no hope but it is still painful. There is still a hole in our family where once stood Aunt Lavonne. Even though I am sure she is now in heaven. Even though we are of good courage because to be apart from the body is to be at home with the Lord. Even though I know she is not in terrible suffering any longer, I still grieve.

I am selfish in my grieving. I so wish I could be there. I feel guilty for being here, instead. I know this is where God has me and knew going in that I probably wouldn’t see her again. Yet, I wish I could be there. I wish I could wrap my arms around my loved ones and be able to say “it’ll be ok.” It will be. It will take time, like all losses do, and things will never be the same but it will be ok.

We know that if we choose to believe in Jesus and accept His payment for our sins. If we choose to follow God with our whole hearts that we can see her again. We have the hope of heaven that bolsters us in these difficult times. It is not always easy to follow God but He is always strong. He is always full of mercy and grace and pours those out on us when we need them. I don’t know how I would make it without Him. I do not grieve as those who have no hope.

So I grieve but He grants me His mercy and grace as my comfort.

I cry but with hope.

5 Responses to “With Hope”

  1. Sorry to hear. Praying for you and your family!

  2. Terry Mills said

    Becky I am so sorry for your loss. I know your family has faith and great hope in Christ, but it is still hard to say our earthly good byes.

  3. Jeanne said

    Praying for you my friend…

  4. Allison said

    I know your family looks forward to a glorious reunion! I’m praying for you!

  5. Angie said

    I’m so sorry, Reb….. I also wish you could be there with your family, and not “alone” so very far away. I will pray for all of you because while it is wonderful she is in heaven – i know you will all miss her..

    all my love, Friend!
    Ang

Leave a Reply

