Random Monday

17/Oct/2011

Here’s another post about any and everything. Can’t quite pull my thoughts together for a proper post, today.

1. Let me tell you, I should have brought a LOT more yarn. I have been screaming through my knitting. (I have a lot of down time) I brought (what I thought) was a lot of yarn for specifically long projects. Things that would take a lot of time…..not so much. I’ve finished two shawls, countless washcloths and am starting my third shawl. Luckily:

2. There has been a team here this week. As I’ve said before, I LOVE it when there are teams here. I think I appreciate this one more than ever before since it has been so long since there has been a team here. Talking about movies and music and random things that Andrew and I are missing while here has been fun.

3. The new Switchfoot is awesome! Of course, I am one of the crazy people that have loved them from the beginning and they could sing names out of a phone book and I’d probably love it! =o) Being able to download music here is GREAT! I splurged on Switchfoot but have been downloading free music from Amazon like a boss.

4. Dry season is on its way but I’m SO thankful it’s not here, yet. It can get pretty hot during the day but it is still cool at night. And even during the day, there is usually a nice breeze that keeps if from being ridiculously hot. YAY!

5. Can I just tell you that Skype and modern technology is amazing! I cannot imagine what it must have been like for missionaries/soldiers/exchange students, etc before the internet. Being able to regularly communicate with your family is pretty much a lifesaver. Skype, I love you more’n my luggage! =o)  (name that movie)

6. Also, being able to keep up on current events and even silly things like my favorite blogs and such. priceless.

7. For those of you who didn’t see it on my Facebook, I’d like to share a (new to me) music group. The Wailin Jenny’s. Andrew (one of the other gelletats) is who got me obsessed with them. Especially this song. I could (and do) listen to it jillions of times in a row. It such a great throwback to when we were EXCITED about heaven. I think we’ve lost that as American Christians, which makes me sad. (plus, how can you not love their harmonies? Amazing!)

8. Sometimes I feel like I’ve been thrown back to the 70’s. I’ll have to remember to take pics sometime to illustrate. However, the way the men dress here, so deliciously 70’s. The slacks, the dress shoes, the colors, the HATS, Oh how I love the hats! I’ve failed Justin from the Nehemiah team. I promised I would start a blog about the hats of South Sudan but my phone got run over by a land cruiser putting a severe dent in my picture taking. Suffice it to say, that accessories here are AWESOME! And I will try to do better to show them to you.

9. I feel like I should have ten things but I believe I’ve run out……

I hope things are going well stateside. I miss y’all but I do love it here. I wish we all could be in both places. The world is small but sadly, not that small, yet. =o)

2 Responses to “Random Monday”

  1. Jeanne said

    Rebecca, I love your posts. I makes me feel a part of what you are doing. I so love the way you look at things! Praying for you gal!!

    Jeanne

  2. Name that movie: Steel Magnolias

Leave a Reply

