Known

05/Oct/2011

Being known is a powerful thing.

The need to be known drives us to do crazy things. To be known on the job, we find a hole in the group and fill it. We become the one that brings donuts, the one that bakes, the funny one, the gossip, etc. To be known amongst friends, we go to extremes to be liked. To be known at church, we join groups we may never have wanted to join just so we can meet knew people and feel more spiritual. It’s a crazy thing, this need to be known.

When it happens, it can bring you to your knees. The first time I truly enjoyed my walk to the church/school/seminary compound, it was because I realized I’d made friends along the way. I was able to stop and chat with a few people and it made the journey SO much shorter.

Anytime I am on the compound, I can never just walk from one part to another. I have to stop and greet people all along the way (and I LOVE that).

The thing that gets me the most is a spot in Wudu. There is a place in Wudu that every time we drive by, I hear my name called. Not just the typical “Gelletat” (white person) but “Rebecca!” It brings tears to my eyes just thinking about it. It’s not just that people know my name but they are happy to see me and want me to see them. I’m home here. I’m loved and I am KNOWN.

It’s a heady feeling! But the thing that brings me to my knees is remembering that this is not my homeland. South Sudan is not. America is not. Earth is not. No, the Kingdom of God is my homeland and the King loves me. I am KNOWN, there. I try to explain this to the kids. The Creator of everything, The One who can measure the entire universe with the span of His hand (Isa. 40:12), the One who can weigh the waters with the palm of His hand loves each of us. He knows the number of the hairs on our heads (Mt 10:30). The God of the universe loves YOU. Truly think about it for a moment.

I’ll wait.

God loves you and He truly KNOWS you.

Here, have a tissue. It does that to me, too.

3 Responses to “Known”

  1. Jeanne said

    Oh Rebecca…thank you! I love how you have express this very thing…the need to be known. It is exciting to hear how God is providing for you. He knows you and knows what you need. I so love it!

  2. Terry Mills said

    Becky this is a beautiful reminder. Thank you for sharing your heart. God always blesses us in ways we never expect. Love to you.

  3. Angie said

    Wow, Reb! That was deep and profound 🙂 I LOVE IT! Gave me chills… I am so happy to hear how at home you feel there…it makes my heart smile!

    Love you!
    Ang

Leave a Reply

