Seriously?!

13/Sep/2011

So, a few weeks ago, Kaya told Johnson and I that we would need to take a week off so Johnson could help translate for a Sunday school teacher conference. No problem, right? So, we let the churches know we were going to be skipping these days and I didn’t really think anything else about it until the weekend before. I finally asked Kaya if I needed to have anything prepared for this conference or if I needed to attend. He said he really thought I should attend. Again, no problem.

So I show up on Monday morning having no idea what to expect.

It was proper CEF (Child Evangelism Fellowship) training! As in, we learned all about Good News Clubs and the wordless book, etc. We also had to present several things and were evaluated on them so eventually we could get a certificate. Crazy, right?

OH IT GETS BETTER!

So, there are several instructors from Uganda and the Director of Education for CEF for the Central and East Africa region. She is from Nairobi, Kenya. She found me very curious and asked me one day at lunch what I was doing here so far from home. So, I explained what I was doing and about e3, etc. I told her my funny story about not knowing I was coming to legit CEF training. She asked me where I was from. I said, Kansas (prepared with my standard African spiel about where Kansas is in the US). “Really, where in Kansas?” I’m thinking this crazy lady from Kenya is just trying to make conversation and has NO idea about Kansas, but whatevs. I tell her Kansas City. “Where at in Kansas City?” Now I’m curious. How does she know KC? So I say I’m from the Lenexa area. She says, “Oh, that’s interesting. I went to Bible college in KC and so I know the area a little.” Come to find out, she went to Calvary! Crazy!

BUT IT GETS BETTER!

She says that one of her best friends lives in KC. She was visiting there in July and her friend had her come talk to the kids at her church. It’s in the Lenexa area. It was Lenexa Baptist Church! HOLY COW!!! This CEF director from Kenya was speaking to my kids in America while I was here in South Sudan!

The world is small, isn’t it? And our God’s family is everywhere! =o) I love it!

2 Responses to “Seriously?!”

  1. Angie said

    that is to cool, Reb! 🙂

  2. Debra Ross said

    I am so glad you were able to attend the conference and met Martha (director of CEF). I prayed that it would work out if you were supposed to meet. You don’t know me but I had spoken with Jared from e3 (in Olathe) and had been aware of your interest in teaching kids in Southern Sudan. I just met Martha this July and was thrilled to learn that CEF training was going on in South Sudan. It truly is a small world. I agree – God’s family is everywhere and I’m lovin’ it, too! Debra R

Leave a Reply

