More on Down-time

15/Aug/2011

13.08.11

Another down-time story for y’all. Last night after dinner with some of the people here, a couple of us went back inside the big room for a little while. I usually call it the dining hall but you learn pretty quickly to eat outside where the Sudanese eat. SO much cooler. =o) But I digress.

As we were sitting there just hanging out, Blessing walked in. Blessing lives up to her name. She is such a sweetheart. She lives not far from Kaya’s and is also one of the students at the vocational school. So I see her pretty often. Anyway, she came bearing one of the hymnals they keep at the church.(Celebration Hymnal, if you’re curious. LOTS of Gaither) She’d borrowed it to learn some new songs  and asked me to help her. So we just started flipping through and I’d sing the ones I knew and teach her the ones she liked the sound of and she would sing the ones she knew. Holy cow! What memories flooded me! Songs I hadn’t sung in years but remembered like the back of my hand because I had sung them so much when I was younger. It took me back to riding in the car with Mom or sitting in the sewing room and just singing these hymns. Wonderful Grace of Jesus, Showers of Blessing, Sweetest Name I Know, etc. (Mom, a couple of weeks ago, I had the STRONGEST memory of singing with you in the sewing room when I realized the church was singing Jesus, Jesus, Jesus in the morning, Jesus in the noontime….I nearly started crying right there under the mango tree!)

These memories are so sweet and I loved thinking about them when suddenly I realized, I’m making a new memory RIGHT NOW to add to them. One of Kaya’s daughters had come in and was singing with us. I was singing these old hymns with new African sisters. Something I don’t ever want to forget. God bless the down-time!

Leave a Reply

