Nimule

01/Aug/2011

Wow! I can’t believe how long it’s been since I’ve updated. Sorry, y’all! I’ll try to do more updating soon. Internet is still down at Kaya’s and I don’t get up here to the compound all that often.

Talk about a couple weeks of ups and downs! Nimule was HOT but it was SO great to see the team from back home. It was a huge pick-me-up when I needed it. The work in Nimule was slow but good. My team went out to a village called Sau (sow-like a pig). This was a church plant. We went out doing evangelism in the late mornings and came back for discipleship by 1:30 or 2. There was always a small group that showed up but they were consistent and seemed genuinely interested in learning more about the Bible. So it was a great week! I went to a couple of schools but opted not to the last day because they took up all of my time that would have been spent evangelizing those two days. The schools were fun, as always, and the kids always love learning My God is so Big! =o)

The days were LONG we left the hotel at 7 ish and didn’t usually get back until 8 or 9. However, it was great to spend time with everyone.

AND THEN, the roller coaster began. We packed everyone into the planes, including Sarah (sad!) and saw them off. Then, we headed on down the road to go home. Check out of Sudan, check into Uganda. (note these are very separate check-points about 10 ish miles apart). Continue on the long trek home. Back across the nile (beautiful!) and through Moyo. Check out of Uganda. Back into Sudan and FINALLY!!! home! Felt so good to be home in Kajo. However, it was poor planning on my part to have nearly four days of time off before I went back to ministry. I have been pulling out my hair, biting my nails, chomping at the bit, whatever you can think off, I’ve been doing it. Including spinning myself down into a funk because I miss Kansas and my family and now I miss Sarah! Oh, woe to me. What will I do. (Read those last two lines in a Greek accent, then name that movie)

However, I am loving my time here and it does truly feel like home. So, once I get back to ministry tomorrow, I will be feeling MUCH better.

I want to thank you all again for all your support and prayers. I’ve been thinking lately how I have not been nearly appreciative enough and def haven’t expressed it enough. I appreciate each and every one of you and all you’ve done to get me here.

I miss you all! I hope you are having great summers in spite of the ridiculous heat! (don’t really want to rub it in but it’s not too bad here)

Talk to ya later.

2 Responses to “Nimule”

  1. Angie said

    Sounds like you’ve been keepin busy! šŸ™‚ We are doing well here – Kyle is enrolling today in the Bioinformatics Master’s Program at UTEP. So in about 3 weeks we’ll be back into full time student status except this time with 2 little people in tow!….exciting and yikes all at once šŸ™‚

  2. Allison said

    Let me guess…”My Big Fat Greek Wedding”? Bet you miss DVD players and movies, too. So sorry! I shall start planning your return party now, but in the meantime, keep looking UP and know we’re praying for you!

Leave a Reply

