The Children of South Sudan

08/Mar/2011

I have fallen for South Sudan.

I first visited South Sudan in the summer of 2009. A group from my church connected with an organization called e3 Partners and went on a 10-day mission trip to Kajo Keji, Sudan. I didn’t know what to expect. I only knew that I was scared out of my wits. I mean, we were going to AFRICA. This was NOT on my list of expected things to happen in my life. However, I felt that God was leading me to join this trip so off I went.

To say that trip changed my life would be an understatement. My perspective on life and what God has for us to do in this life, completely changed. I wouldn’t say I was uninvolved before. I worked as an admin at my church. I served every week in our children’s ministry. I led a small group every week. I was very involved in our singles ministry. However, even as a lifelong Christian, I was afraid to share the Gospel. I knew how important it was that people understand that God loves us so much He sent His only son to die on the cross as a payment for our sins. However, I did not want to be the one to share that information. What if I did it wrong? What if I forgot something important? What if they ask a question I don’t know the answer to? What if they didn’t listen? Worse yet, what if they DID listen and I didn’t know what to do next? However, in preparing for this trip, we learned the Gospel backward and forward. We used evangecubes to start out. By the end of the trip, I had shared the Gospel with hundreds of people, seen many come to Christ, taught on several scripture passages and met people more on fire for God than I’ve ever seen.

Needless to say, I had to go back. So the next summer, I jumped at the chance to go with e3 to the same area. This time, not only would we have a very similar trip as the year before but we had a chance to stay an extra week and visit another area to lead a discipleship conference. This time I was able to take part in a baptism service. (much more exciting than the somber baptisms we do here in the states!) Then, those of us that stayed the extra week were able to see just how dedicated and hungry the church leaders are and how little they have been trained. We had the opportunity to share what God had shown us through His word and people much smarter than ourselves. There were times I felt I was practically spitting out exactly what I had learned from my friend John Crawford and quite honestly, that made me pretty proud!

By the end of that trip, I was asking our trip leader, Steve Grote (hereafter referred to as G), what I would do if I came for a longer time. I don’t feel particularly gifted or talented. Many of the needs in South Sudan are far above my abilities and knowledge. However, I had fallen and wanted to go back. G said he would love to have someone come for a year or so and figure out what Children’s Ministry looks like in Sudan. That one idea became the beginning of a crazypants few months for me. Which has turned into this bizzaro world in which I am going to AFRICA for a YEAR!

I am still trying to figure out how this happened. First, I don’t like heat. I’m wondering why God hasn’t sent me to Alaska. Maybe I misunderstood. Wrong place starting with the letter “A”. . . Second, I am not a missionary. Aside from my belief that God has made it very clear that we are ALL responsible to go and tell the nations, I have never felt “the call” to missions. Third, I’m an urbanite. I don’t do nature. I like air conditioning, indoor plumbing, pretty clothes, high heels, jewelry, pest control and did I mention air conditioning?

What is going on here?!?!?

So join me as I make my journey. Laugh with me as I make a fool of myself, cry with me as I see God moving and the hurt of the Sudanese people, and crave chocolate with me. (luckily, you can run to Wal-Mart and pick some up; just don’t tell me about it)

One Response to “The Children of South Sudan”

  1. Ginger said

    Miss Rebecca….. thanks for sharing your thoughts. I know God will do wonderful things through you in Sudan.

Leave a Reply

