Time?

26/Apr/2012

Seriously! Where has the time gone? Sunday will mark the one month point. We’ve had a team here and two of them stayed for an extra week to do women’s ministry. In the midst of all that, the Kaya girls came home from school on holiday. They will be here until about a week before I leave. With all of these things, I’ll be home before I know it!

I keep saying I’m of two hearts. I CANNOT wait to see all of you and be home but I don’t want to leave my home and family here. I’m trying really hard not to really think about it, yet.

SO, let me tell you about the last couple of weeks. It’s always refreshing to have American teams here. As I’ve said before, easy conversation is something you learn to value. Also, just having a somewhat similar background makes it easier. It’s great to hear about home and make new friends. Because of all the teams, I now feel as though I have friends I could crash with in California, Pennsylvania and MANY couches to crash on in Texas. I could stay in Texas a month and not stay on the same couch twice! =o)

Anyway, it was great (also, when teams are here we have proper showers, lots of meat and COLD soda – WOO-HOO!) Then, two ladies stayed over for one more week. Jeanne and Patricia. They were SUCH a blessing! They kept saying they planned to visit the women in the churches and I was more than welcome to tag along. At first, I sort of took this as a toss out invite. I was there they felt they had to invite me. But soon I could tell they were very serious and wanted me to come. So I got to revisit three churches I had been to and one new one with the intent to speak to the women. One of the things I wanted to do while I was here that just hasn’t come to fruition was to talk to parents about their responsibility to teach their children about Jesus, God, and the Bible. I finally had the opportunity to do just that in these four places. It was so much fun to see the lightbulbs go on over their heads. Jeanne and Patricia had such encouraging words to share, also. It was a great time of learning and refreshment. For those of you who have been here before and want to know which villages, here they are:

Mekor was the first. They’ve built a long tukul church building that is very nice. Beautiful people and lovely area.

Limi Calvary was the next. They welcomed us warmly. These women are organized! We learned they have a farming coop. The women of the church have a plot of land they farm together. This helps assure that each family will be fed and any extra is saved for seeds for next year or sold to help the church and any needs that might arise amongst them. Isn’t that a great idea?

Lukalilli is one of the places very close to my heart! I have been there now several times. They are a great church that is just a baby one but growing quickly. We had tea and mangoes there. In fact, we had to dodge quite a few mangoes while we were teaching and singing. They kept falling on our heads! (don’t worry mom, no one was hurt) =o)

Aliwa is another lovely church. They have also built a long tukul church building. Sam Ochan is the pastor and built the church himself. He is a busy guy! He is a seminary student finishing his diploma, he pastors Aliwa and disciples at two or three other churches, he teaches Bible in the primary school a couple days a week AND he works with Children in Christ teaching children about God all over this area. (in his spare time, he built one of the most beautiful churches I’ve seen) The ladies here had visited Lukalilli the day before so I used this time to talk about unity and remembering who the real enemy is and to fight him together in a unified front. If you remember this is also what I taught at CYIA. I feel like anywhere there are humans, there is need for teaching on unity! I know I need a constant reminder of it. =o)

So we kicked Jeanne and Patricia out of the country on Tuesday (actually we tearfully and reluctantly let them go). And yesterday I was hit with a major cold so I rested a bit and put my room back in order. It’s amazing what havoc a couple of weeks of constant running and barely touching your space can wreak!

Peeps I’m ready but I’m not. I think that will be my state for quite a while. Even once I’m in my American home.

One Response to “Time?”

  1. Rebecca, We loved being with you in all the villages! I felt like our threesome was the way the Lord wanted it to be. We made a great team! I hope we get to do it again someday!

    I know that your time of departure from KK is growing near. I am sure it will be a bittersweet transition for you! I am sure they will miss you too. Especially that cute Harmony. I will be praying for you during this time and asking the Lord to give you HIS PEACE about it all!

    Blessings and a safe ride home!
    Jeanie

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

