Ministry, oy

22/Feb/2012

As you know, our ministry has been on hold for a while. No diesel makes it difficult to travel. So we had come up with a new plan. I know this is SHOCKING but that plan was pretty much thrown out the window right before we were going to implement it. I know this is the nature of ministry anyway but it is to the NTH degree here in Africa. So, new plan. Diesel is a bit easier to come by, now, and Kaya wants us to resume going out to churches. Great. So Johnson and I talked about it, he put together a schedule and off we went. One thing I wanted to make clear to each church this time is that I want to meet with leaders not children. I LOVED meeting all the kids and teaching them but didn’t feel like I was accomplishing much. One Bible lesson is not necessarily changing someone’s life forever. However, a teacher that can effectively teach more Bible lessons and truths from the Bible is more likely to effect change. This is why we really need to meet with teachers and make sure they know how to put together a lesson.

We were supposed to begin this week. I say supposed to because we haven’t. So far, there was a funeral in one community, lack of communication in another and no vehicle today. This is pretty normal here. However, I’m getting comfortable with it and often hoping that something happens to keep us from “having” to go out. That’s the ugly truth. My laziness is overriding God’s purpose for me being here. It’s so frustrating to me that I feel this way. And I’m only admitting it hoping that telling you guys will help me begin the process of heart change. Also, it’s something for which I’d like prayer.

Johnson is going to head to our scheduled places on his motorbike, today. They are far enough and rough enough that he doesn’t feel comfortable taking me along but was willing to go without me. This is a good thing to get him more experience teaching people. However, am I just saying that as justification for my relief at not having to go? Probably…..

Pray for me and my slacker self. Pray that I will buck up and be an adult. Pray that I will regain my heart for what is to be done here. And pray that my pathetic attitude won’t affect Johnson and the ministry.

 

2 Responses to “Ministry, oy”

  1. Jeanne said

    Miss Rebecca,
    You are alot of things…lazy and a slacker – nope not one of those! But, I will pray that God will make it abundantly clear when you are to go and when you are to stay. And He will make a way for you and Johnson to go out to the churchs that I know are so wanting you to come. Love ya girlfriend! Keep up the good work!

    jeanne

  2. Sheri Kittle said

    Rebecca, you know what I love about our God, he gives us each other to encourage and lift each other up! You know and I know that God has called you to accomplish something no one else could because of the calling he had on your life and how He wants to use you. I have to tell you that I listened to a sermon last night called Slaying the Giants in Your Life by Dr. David Jeremiah spoke on Procrastination. It truly convicted me as to how I have put off things or not shared the Gospel when I know I have been given opportunities to do so. He said “tomorrow is the most dangerous word in the Bible because it assumes control over a period of time you can ‘t get your arms around”. Just remember, God called you to teach and preach to those wonderful people and you are a great communicator! Everyone gets comfortable in their surrounding and sometimes we all need a little encouragement or a reminder as to why we do what we do! I’ll be praying for you and I can’t wait to hear about how your training went.

    Blessings,

    Sheri Kittle
    James 4:13-14 Now listen you who say, “Today or tomorrow we will go to this or that city, spend a year there, carry on business and make money.” 14 Why, you do not even know what will happen tomorrow. What is your life? You are a mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

